U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

The .gov means it's official.
Federal government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you're on a federal government site.


The site is secure.
The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

NTP Logo

Annual Report for Fiscal Year 2018

Annual Report for Fiscal Year 2018

NTP Board of Scientific Counselors

The NTP Board of Scientific Counselors (BSC), a federally chartered advisory group whose members are appointed by the Secretary of Health and Human Services, oversees the scientific merit of NTP programs and activities. The BSC includes scientists, primarily from the public and private sectors, with expertise relevant to NTP activities. The current roster and meeting minutes are available on the NTP website. In FY 2018, Mary Wolfe, Ph.D., served as the designated federal officer for the BSC.

The Board met twice in FY 2018: December 7–8, 2017 and June 20, 2018. Materials and highlights from each meeting can be accessed on the Past NTP Board of Scientific Counselors Meetings web page. The June meeting was Dr. Brian Berridge’s first meeting as new NTP Associate Director. At that meeting, Dr. Berridge introduced an updated approach to the organization’s mission and also described the NTP Translational Toxicology Pipeline Plan as a strategic realignment aimed to inform the present and innovate the future using contemporary tools such as literature analysis, animal studies, in vitro systems, and in silico or computations analytics. These tools and strategies would yield fit-for-purpose products that advance public health and the discipline of toxicology in ways that are translatable, predictive, and timely.

NTP Board of Scientific Counselors members and NTP staff at the June 2017 BSC meeting.

NTP Board of Scientific Counselors Membership Roster FY 2018

Name and Title Affiliation Term End Date
Cynthia Afshari, Ph.D.
Scientific Executive Director
Amgen, Inc.
Thousand Oaks, California
Norman J. Barlow, D.V.M., Ph.D.
Head of Nonclinical Sciences
Seatte Genetics
Bothell, Washington
Paul Brandt-Rauf, Dr.P.H., M.D., Sc.D.
Office of the Dean
Drexel University
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Myrtle Davis, D.V.M., Ph.D.
Executive Director, Discovery Toxicology, Pharmaceutical Candidate Optimization
Bristol-Myers Squibb
Princeton, New Jersey
Daniel Kass, M.S.P.H.
Senior Vice President, Environmental Health
Vital Strategies
New York, New York
Kenneth McMartin, Ph.D.
Board Chair
Professor, Pharmacology, Toxicology, and Neuroscience
Louisiana State University Health Science Center
Shreveport, Louisiana
Kenneth Ramos, M.D., Ph.D.
Associate Vice President, Precision Health Sciences Center
Arizona Health Sciences Center
Tucson, Arizona
Jennifer Sass, Ph.D.
Senior Scientist
Natural Resources Defense Council
Washington, District of Columbia
James Stevens, Ph.D.
Paradox Found Consulting Services, LLC
Apex, North Carolina
Donald G. Stump, Ph.D., D.A.B.T.
Vice President, Nonclinical Safety Science
WIL Research
Ashland, Ohio
Katrina Waters, Ph.D.
Deputy Director, Biological Sciences Division
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
Richland, Washington