National Toxicology Program

National Toxicology Program

ICCVAM Public Forum: May 2017

May 23, 2017
William H. Natcher Conference Center
National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, Maryland, USA

Registration to attend in person has closed.

Register to view the webcast

ICCVAM’s goals include promotion of national and international partnerships between governmental and nongovernmental groups, including academia, industry, advocacy groups, and other key stakeholders. To foster these partnerships, ICCVAM holds annual public forums to share information and facilitate direct communication of ideas and suggestions from stakeholders. This year's public forum will focus on an effort, coordinated by ICCVAM, to explore new approaches for evaluating the safety of chemicals and medical products in the United States. Read more about this activity and submit comments

Public Comments

Comments on the Strategic Roadmap

Physicians Committee for Responsible Medicine (May 12)

Center for Responsible Science (May 17)

Global In Vitro Validation In Silico Human (May 17)


Welcome from ICCVAM Co-Chairs: Abigail Jacobs, Food and Drug Administration (FDA) and Anna Lowit, Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)

US Strategic Roadmap for Alternative Approaches

ICCVAM Updates

  • ICCVAM: Anna Lowit, EPA
  • ICCVAM Skin Sensitization: Nicole Kleinstreuer, NIEHS
  • OECD National Coordinator: Wanda Hall, EPA
  • Globally Harmonized System of Classification and Labelling of Chemicals (GHS): Joanna Matheson, Consumer Product Safety Commission
  • National Toxicology Program: Nigel Walker, NIEHS
  • Department of Defense: LTC Marla Brunell
  • Food and Drug Administration: Abigail Jacobs
  • Department of Agriculture: Carol Clarke
  • EPA Office of Pesticide Programs: Garland Waleko
  • EPA Office of Pollution Prevention and Toxics: Gino Scarano
  • National Library of Medicine: Bert Hakkinen
  • Tox21 Program: Kevin Crofton, EPA
  • FDA Emulate Project: Suzy Fitzpatrick, FDA Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition
  • National Center for Advancing Translational Science: Lucie Low
  • National Institute of Standards and Technology: Elijah Peterson
  • Department of Transportation: Steve Hwang
Public Statements
  • Elizabeth Baker (Physicians Committee for Responsible Medicine)
  • Richard Becker (American Chemistry Council)
  • Amy Clippinger (People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals)
  • Christine Rowen (GIVVISH)
  • Sue Leary (Alternatives Research and Development Foundation)

Other Meeting Information

ICCVAM Committee Roster [View roster with contact information]

Federal Register notice announcing the public forum (April 25, 2017) View as a webpage

NTP is located at the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences, part of the National Institutes of Health.