U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

The .gov means it's official.
Federal government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you're on a federal government site.


The site is secure.
The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.


ICCVAM Biennial Report 2020-2021

Biennial Progress Report 2020-2021 Interagency Coordinating Committee on the Validation of Alternative Methods

ICCVAM Workgroups

ICCVAM establishes ad hoc workgroups to perform specific tasks important for the development or validation of alternatives to animal testing. The workgroups are composed of representatives from agencies that use or require data from the topic of interest. Representatives of partner organizations in the International Cooperation on Alternative Test Methods may also be invited to participate in a workgroup.

ICCVAM workgroups play a key role in carrying out ICCVAM activities, including implementing the goals of the Strategic Roadmap for Establishing New Approaches to Evaluate the Safety of Chemicals and Medical Products in the United States. When a workgroup completes its charge tasks, it transitions to an expert group to facilitate continued communication and engagement in the area of interest.

During 2020-2021, ICCVAM had active workgroups focused on the following areas:

  • Acute toxicity: co-chairs Donald Cronce, Ph.D. (DoD) and Grace Patlewicz, Ph.D. (EPA)
  • Consideration of alternative methods: co-chairs Jessie Carder (USDA) and Matthew Johnson, D.V.M., DACLAM (DoD)
  • Ecotoxicology: co-chairs William Eckel, Ph.D. (EPA) and Natalia Garcia-Reyero Vinas, Ph.D. (DoD)
  • In vitro to in vivo extrapolation: co-chairs Moiz Mumtaz, Ph.D. (ATSDR) and Cecilia Tan, Ph.D. (EPA)
  • Metrics: transitioned to expert group status in April 2021; co-chairs Suzanne Fitzpatrick, Ph.D., D.A.B.T. (FDA) and Matthew Johnson, D.V.M., DACLAM (DoD)
  • Nanomaterials: transitioned to expert group status in December 2021; chair Elijah Petersen, Ph.D. (NIST)
  • Read-across: chair Grace Patlewicz, Ph.D. (EPA)
  • Validation: co-chairs Suzanne Fitzpatrick, Ph.D., D.A.B.T. (FDA), John Gordon, Ph.D. (CPSC), and Elijah Petersen, Ph.D. (NIST)